Home > ENG > Jabbar Savalan’s appeal denied

Jabbar Savalan’s appeal denied

On 2 March Sumgait Appeals Court looked at APFP Youth Committee member Jabbar Savalan’s appeal and did not accept the complaint. This is according to information given to RFE/RL Azeri service by Anar Gasimov, Jabbar Savalan’s attorney.
The decision means that Jabbar Savalan’s pre-trial detention period of 2 months will remain the same.
The attorney said that, as soon as the session started, he made his complaint to the judges: “The judges were from the Sumgayit Appeals Court civil offence board, so I appealed that the case should be looked at by the criminal offence board. The complaint was not accepted.”
The process, which lasted over an hour, saw the judge Azer Husynov deny all appeals made by the defense.

On 2 March, Jabar Savalan’s mother Teravet Aliyeva was called to the Ministry of Internal Affairs and had to write a statement there. She informed RFE/RL of this herself.
“I sent a complaint to the Ministry of Internal Affairs regarding my son being wrongfully accused and detained. For this I was called to the Ministry for a written explanation of my complaint.”
“After I wrote the complaint the interrogator took my statement to the chief officer. Later he returned, telling me that the officer asks whether my son was smoking a cigarette. I said no. The interrogator told me to go, that they would look at the case and give me an answer.”

The head of department at the Ministry of Internal Affairs Orkhan Mansurzada has said to RFE/RL Azeri service that Teravet Aliyeva was invited to MIA Investigative Bureau and that the head of the bureau heard her out.

Categories: ENG
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

